Cyclades is an island complex in the Aegean Sea. The layout of the islands is in two parallel lines following the Sounion and Euboea, giving the distinction to the Western and Eastern Cyclades, which are the homonymous prefecture of the Cyclades. The total population of the Prefecture is 112,615 inhabitants (2001 inventory) and its headquarters in Ermoupolis.

Their name was given by the ancient geographers because of the circular arrangement around the sacred island of Dilos (the birthplace of the goddess Artemis and Apollo) as opposed to the other islands of the Aegean called Sporades.

In the Cyclades are the following islands: Naxos, Andros, Paros, Tinos, Milos, Kea, Amorgos, Ios, Kithnos, Mikonos, Siros, Santorini, Sifnos, Anafi, Kimolos , Antiparos, Folegandros, Makronissos, Poliegos, Iraklia, Giaros, Keros, Rineia, Donousa, Thirasia, Schinousa, Antiamilos, Despotiko, Ano Koufonisi, Kato Koufonisi, Dilos.

Also the prefecture of Cyclades includes numerous smaller islands as well as clusters of islands such as Antiparos, Makares, Anydros (or Amorgopoula), Aspronisi, Nea Kameni, Palea Kameni, Askania, Eschati, Christiani, Nikouria, Kardiotissa, Kitriani, Serifopoula, Glaronisi, Revmatonisi, Avolonadissi, Tragonisi, Avoladonisi and Schinonisi.

The six small islands between Amorgos and Naxos constitute the Small Cyclades. These are the above mentioned: Koufonisia (Upper and Lower Koufonisi), Iraklia, Schinousa, Donousa and Keros.